Check Here for Latest COVID-19 Related Tax Updates

phone: 978.774.3000    fax: 978.774.8170    185 Centre St., Danvers, MA 01923

Hurricane Irene’s Impact on Taxes

Many people have heard if they were affected by Hurricane Irene and they had previously filed an extension for their 2010 tax return, they now have additional time to file.  However, what many people do not realize is that this additional tax relief is only available to specific counties and municipalities that have been declared federal disaster areas.

So how do you know if your area is on this list? You can go to review the latest list of counties and municipalities published by the IRS that have been granted tax relief. Below is the list as of September 14, 2011:

In Connecticut: Fairfield, Hartford, Litchfield, Middlesex, New Haven, New London, Tolland and Windham;

In Massachusetts: Berkshire and Franklin;

In New Hampshire: Carroll and Grafton;

In New Jersey: Atlantic, Bergen, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Essex, Gloucester, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Passaic, Salem, Somerset, Sussex, Union and Warren;

In New York: Albany, Bronx, Clinton, Columbia, Delaware, Dutchess, Essex, Greene, Herkimer, Kings, Montgomery, Nassau, Orange, Otsego, Putnam, Queens, Rensselaer, Richmond, Rockland, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Suffolk, Sullivan,
Ulster, Warren, Washington and Westchester;

In North Carolina: Beaufort, Bertie, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell, Vance, Warren, Washington, Wayne and Wilson;

In Pennsylvania: Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Lehigh, Luzerne, Monroe, Montgomery, Northampton, Philadelphia, Sullivan and Wyoming;

In Puerto Rico: Arroyo, Aguas Buenas, Caguas, Canóvanas, Carolina, Cayey, Cidra, Coamo, Comerío, Fajardo, Gurabo, Humacao, Jayuya, Juncos, Las Piedras, Loíza, Luquillo, Naguabo, Naranjito, Orocovis, Patillas, Ponce, Río Grande, San Juan,
San Lorenzo, Trujillo Alto, Vega Baja, Vieques, and Villalba;

In Vermont: Addison, Bennington, Caledonia, Chittenden, Orange, Rutland, Washington, Windham and Windsor;

If your county or municipality is on the list above and you had previously filed an extension for your 2010 tax return, individuals now have until October 31, 2011  (instead of October 17, 2011) and corporations and businesses now have until October 17, 2011.

Leave a Reply